THE PRESTIGIOUS ART COLLECTION AT THE ETH ZÜRICH

The ETH’s Collection of Prints and Drawings was founded in 1867 as a classic collection for study and teaching purposes. Since then it has developed into an institution of international renown which actively promotes knowledge about and understanding for art on paper. With some 160,000 high-quality works on paper from the 15th century to the present day it is also one of the largest collections of prints and drawings in Switzerland.


Exhibitions at the Graphische Sammlung ETH Zürich

Research and development

The Graphische Sammlung ETH Zürich forms part of a university and as such recognises its duty to promote the academic research, development and digitalisation of its holdings. It stages four to five exhibitions per year, which introduce the collection to the general public and encourage an active study of the works.

Read more

Historical topics alternate with contemporary ones, relevant subjects are addressed and publications are produced to accompany them. The collection is expanded in a targeted manner, and especially with the acquisition of new works it tracks down and introduces the latest developments in art.

Show less


Exhibitions and education

The Graphische Sammlung ETH Zürich aims to continue to arouse enthusiasm for its works in an interested public in future with a varied exhibition programme and accompanying publications. A broadly based educational programme accompanies the exhibitions and illuminates the background of the collection and its works.

Read more

The institution also sees its activities at all times as a materialised knowledge system which is also relevant beyond the art-related dialogue in the fields of the history of academic history and academics. For this reason in particular we seek an exchange with the departments of the ETH.

Show less

HOCHKARÄTIGE KUNST­SAMM­LUNG AN DER ETH ZÜRICH

1867 wurde die Graphische Sammlung ETH Zürich als klassische Studien- und Lehrsammlung gegründet. Seither hat sie sich zu einer Institution entwickelt, die internationales Renommee geniesst und die Vermittlung und das Verständnis für Kunst auf Papier aktiv fördert. Rund 160‘000 hochkarätige Werke auf Papier vom 15. Jahrhundert bis zur Gegenwart machen sie überdies zu einer der grössten Graphischen Sammlungen der Schweiz.


Ausstellungen an der Graphischen Sammlung ETH Zürich

Erforschen und Erschliessen

Als Teil einer Hochschule sieht sich auch die Graphische Sammlung verpflichtet, die wissenschaftliche Erschliessung, Erforschung und Digitalisierung ihrer Bestände voranzutreiben. Sie macht mit ihren vier bis fünf Ausstellungen pro Jahr eine breite Öffentlichkeit auf ihre Sammlung aufmerksam und regt zu einer aktiven Auseinandersetzung mit den Werken an.

Mehr lesen

Historische Positionen wechseln mit aktuellen ab, relevante Themen werden aufgegriffen und Begleitpublikationen veröffentlicht. Die Sammlung wird gezielt ausgebaut, und besonders mit dem Erwerb von jungen Positionen spürt sie neueste Entwicklungen in der Kunst auf und stellt sie vor.

Schliessen


Ausstellen und Vermitteln

Die Graphische Sammlung ETH Zürich zielt darauf ab, auch künftig durch ein abwechslungsreiches Ausstellungsprogramm und begleitende Publikationen ein interessiertes Publikum für ihre Werke zu begeistern. Ein breit angelegtes Vermittlungsprogramm begleitet die Ausstellungen und beleuchtet Hintergründe zur Sammlung und zu Werken.

Mehr lesen

Die Institution versteht sich in ihrer Tätigkeit immer auch als materialisierte Wissensordnung, die auch ausserhalb eines Kunstdiskurses wissenschaftshistorisch und wissenschaftlich relevant ist. Aus diesem Grund wird insbesondere der Austausch mit ETH-Departementen gesucht.

Schliessen